top of page

Revamping, Reorganizing, & Moving Forward

Like many parents of children with special needs, I have taken some time to step back and reevaluate my life, as well as that of my son's, and try to figure out what direction I want to go. Since my last bog I have gained my first grandson, my husband and I have separated, I have lost my father to a very short battle with acute myeloid leukemia, and started a new career. My new career has been as a support broker helping people with a wide variety of special needs acquire services (and the related funding for the services) outside of the more "traditional services" like school, day habs, and group homes. It has been rewarding, yet taken me away from being able to focus the time I would like on my writing. I am now returning to the world of writing and walking a tightrope balancing everything.

I have learned that at times, it is ok to say "no". I can say no to others asking me to volunteer my services. I can say no to my son when he asks for just another hour of video gaming. I can say no to the friend who asks me to watch their child for an extra hour when I am trying to work from home. I can say no to a family or client that is too needy and draining my energy.

Conversely, I have started to say "yes" more. I say yes to my son when he wants to play a board game, cook something together, or go swimming. I have said yes to volunteering as a ski instructor for kids with special needs, despite not having been on skis in almost 18 years. I have learned to say yes to doing things for me and taking time for me. My son needs me to do this so I can be the best mom for him.

I have been participating in a one on one middle grade novel mentorship through the local Society of Children's Books Writers and Illustrators. This is an amazing opportunity that I was awarded. I have been working on two middle grade novels. The first has a working title of "The Broken Branch" and is about a girl from a dysfunctional family who has to do a family tree for school. The second is semi-autobiographical, with lots of fiction thrown in. It is about a girl whose family leaves suburban upstate New York and attends a Navajo boarding school for her seventh grade school year.

Now, I am working on building my internet presence as well as increasing awareness of the 10 books I have out from the James series, about a boy with autism.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page