top of page

College and the Future

AS I see many friends preparing to send their kids off to college, whether it is for the first time or the last, I wonder is that something that James will ever be able to experience. I hope that someday he will be capable of this, whether or not he chooses to. But in all reality, I have no idea. Some of the people I work with inspire me and are able to navigate some college-level courses while living at home. Many are not able to attempt it. If I had a crystal ball and could see into the future, would I want to? Not really!

Too much time is spent worrying about the future. I find it is best with James to focus on the here and now. His cousin in North Carolina is starting high school today. James wishes he was starting also, but he has seventeen days to go. We counted them together. Starting today is not something I can make happen, but we can work on some of his workbooks that I ordered at the beginning of the summer, keep reading, do some experiments, and enjoy some day trips. He is excited to be learning and recognizes the progress that he has made over the summer.

It will be interesting to see what James' teachers see and how much he is willing to show them. Over the summer, he has been reading the communication journal that went between his fourth grade teacher and myself. For just over a month, he has been reading it at least four times per week. If he could change one thing, it would be to be in the gen ed classroom more. He knows to do this he needs to be less disruptive and that is the goal he is setting for himself.

So, as others prepare to take their children to college, we plan and hope to have fifth grade be the year that James will truly shine and thrive...as we take it one day at a time!

Countdown to school starting!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page